Credit: 989Bull

Highlights and winners from the 54th Annual ACM Awards!

Reba McEntire hosted the 54th Annual Academy of Country Music Awards in Las Vegas Sunday night. And in true Reba fashion, she had jokes! She led the night by talking about the fact that it recently snowed in Vegas and saying, “It was so cold it froze us women out of entertainer of the year.” Reba has been vocal in the past about the lack of women artists representing the ACMs, but she promised to keep the show light and fun with no political talk.

Florida Georgia Line opened the show with Jason Aldean, performing their song “Can’t Hide Red.” Aldean was presented the ACM Dick Clark artist of the decade award.

“This Is Us” star Chrissy Metz made her live TV singing debut on the show with a song from her new movie, “Breakthrough” and perfomed the movie’s anthem, “I’m Standing With You,” joined by singers Carrie Underwood, Lauren Alaina, Mickey Guyton and Maddie & Tae. (And I’m sure that wasn’t intimidating for Chrissy at all to make her live singing debut with superstar Carrie Underwood!)


View this post on Instagram


We are @maddieandtae after that incredible performance! 😍 #ACMawards

A post shared by Academy of Country Music (ACM) (@acmawards) on Apr 7, 2019 at 8:14pm PDT

Miranda Lambert sang a medley of her hits including “Love’s Giving Up On Me,” “White Liar,” and “Mama’s Broken Heart.” and also teamed up with George Strait to perform a throwback duet of his 2001 hit, “Run.”
With a performance that started with Carrie Underwood singing pool side at the MGM Grand, she walked into the building through the audience, kissed her husband and onto the stage, all while singing “Southbound.”
One of my favorite performances of the night was from  Little Big Town debuting a new single called “ The Daughters,” a which details the special challenges girls and women deal with in terms of societal expectations. Kimberly Schlapman’s daughter, Daisy (11) and Phillip Sweet’s daughter Penelopi (11) danced as part of the performance and there were noticeable tears from many women in the audience.


View this post on Instagram


An incredibly moving performance with an important message from @LittleBigTown. #ACMawards

A post shared by Academy of Country Music (ACM) (@acmawards) on Apr 7, 2019 at 6:25pm PDT

Dan + Shay were among the early winners, with their hit “Tequila” scoring song of the year. They went on to also win single record of the year and duo of the year. The coveted Entertainer of the Year award went to Keith Urban – his first ever win in the Entertainer of the Year category.
Special Thanks for KIRO 7 Seattle for airing the show!
Below is a full list of nominees with winners indicated with *WINNER in bold.

Entertainer of the Year

Jason Aldean
Luke Bryan
Kenny Chesney
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban *WINNER

Male Artist of the Year

Dierks Bentley
Luke Combs
Thomas Rhett *WINNER
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban

Female Artist of the Year

Miranda Lambert
Ashley McBryde
Maren Morris
Kacey Musgraves *WINNER
Carrie Underwood

Duo of the Year

Brothers Osborne
Dan + Shay *WINNER
Florida Georgia Line
Maddie & Tae

Group of the Year

Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
Old Dominion *WINNER

New Female Artist of the Year

Danielle Bradbery
Lindsay Ell
Ashley McBryde *WINNER
Carly Pearce

New Male Artist of the Year

Jimmie Allen
Luke Combs *WINNER
Jordan Davis
Michael Ray
Mitchell Tenpenny

New Duo or Group of the Year

High Valley
Runaway June

Album of the Year

“Dan + Shay,” Dan + Shay
“Desperate Man,” Eric Church
“From A Room, Vol. 2,” Chris Stapleton
“Golden Hour,” Kacey Musgraves *WINNER
“The Mountain,” Dierks Bentley

Single Record of the Year

“Down to the Honkytonk,” Jake Owen
“Heaven,” Kane Brown
“Meant to Be,” Bebe Rexha feat. Florida Georgia Line
“Most People Are Good,” Luke Bryan
“Tequila,” Dan + Shay *WINNER

Video of the Year

“Babe,” Sugarland feat. Taylor Swift
“Burn Out,” Midland
“Burning Man,” Dierks Bentley feat. Brothers Osborne
“Drunk Girl,” Chris Janson *WINNER
“Shoot Me Straight,” Brothers Osborne
“Tequila,” Dan + Shay

Song of the Year

“Break Up in the End,” Cole Swindell
“Broken Halos,” Chris Stapleton
“Meant to Be,” Bebe Rexha featuring Florida Georgia Line
“Space Cowboy,” Kacey Musgraves
“Tequila,” Dan + Shay *WINNER
“Yours,” Russell Dickerson

Music Event of the Year

“Burning Man,” Dierks Bentley feat. Brothers Osborne *WINNER
“Drowns the Whiskey,” Jason Aldean feat. Miranda Lambert
“Everything’s Gonna Be Alright,” David Lee Murphy feat. Kenny Chesney
“Keeping Score,” Dan + Shay feat. Kelly Clarkson
“Meant to Be,” Bebe Rexha feat. Florida Georgia Line

Songwriter of the Year

Ross Copperman
Ashley Gorley
Shane McAnally *WINNER
Chase McGill
Josh Osborne

About 98.9 The Bull

98.9 The Bull #1 for New Country

Check Also

Watershed Rewind: 2017 [PHOTOS]

Watershed 2017 was the “earliest” Watershed ever, starting July 28th and being one of the …

Watershed Rewind: 2016 [PHOTOS]

By year five, Watershed was really cooking. 2016 became an iconic year with a double …